Melody Media Productions

Excellence in Broadcasting!

Pervez Saleem


Bangladesh claim historic victory over NZ in first T20

Courtesy: Dawn News/AFP

NAPIER: Bangladesh clai­med an historic five-wicket win over New Zealand on Wednesday after their bowlers ran riot in the opening game of their three-match Twenty20 International series in Napier on Wednesday.

This was Bangladesh’s first Twenty20 win on New Zealand soil, four days after also claiming a maiden away ODI win over the Black Caps in Napier.

“I’m really excited and very proud of how we played,” said Bangladesh captain Najmul Hossain Shanto.

Asked to bat by Shanto, New Zealand made a disastrous start losing three wickets before reaching 134 for nine after their 20 overs.

“Our bowlers learnt quickly in these conditions with the new ball,” Shanto added. “We were really confident after we restricted them.”

The Black Caps bowlers gave home fans hope with the early wickets of Bangladesh opener Rony Talukdar and Shanto.

Veteran Litton Das partnered up with Soumya Sarkar, then Towhid Hridoy to steer Ban­gladesh to 96-4 after 13 overs.

The visitors were wobbling at 97-5 as they lost wickets in quick succession after Afif Hossain was caught for one run off six balls.

Das, who finished on 42 not out, survived two close calls as he battled cramp.

The on-field umpire gave him out lbw on Tim Southee’s bowling, but the Bangladesh opener stayed at the crease when the review showed the ball would have sailed over the stumps.

Ish Sodhi then caught Das at the boundary, but stepped onto the boundary rope to give away six runs.

It fell to all-rounder Mahedi Hasan, who finished 19 not out, to hit the winning runs in his partnership of 40 alongside Das with eight balls spare.

“Credit to Bangladesh, they bowled well,” said Mitchell Santner, who captained New Zealand with regular white ball skipper Kane Williamson rested.

“We fought hard with the ball to make it interesting, but the powerplay took it away from us with the bat,” Santner added.

The second and third T20 in Internationals will both be played at Mount Maunganui on Friday, then Sunday.

Bangladesh, ranked ninth in T20 International cricket, punched above their weight to floor third-ranked New Zealand.

Having dismissed the Black Caps for 98 in Saturday’s third ODI in losing the series 2-1, the Bangladesh bowlers picked up where they left off.

Hasan bowled Tim Seifert in the opening over.

Shoriful Islam was the pick of the Bangladesh bowlers with 3-26, including having Finn Allen caught and Glenn Phillips trapped lbw in consecutive balls.

Daryl Mitchell hit consecutive fours before falling for 14 to leave New Zealand 20-4.

Mark Chapman hit 19 off as many balls before being caught with the score on 50-5.

Santner and James Neesham put on 41 before Sarkar made his second catch to dismiss Santner, having also caught Allen in the slips.

Neesham fell two runs short of his 50, holing out at deep cover point, and Southee was caught on eight.

Adam Milne hit a towering six off the final ball to finish 16 not out before Bangladesh’s batters chipped away at New Zealand’s tally.


NEW ZEALAND: F. Allen c Soumya b Shoriful 1 T. Seifert b Mahedi 0 D. Mitchell b Mahedi 14 G. Phillips lbw b Shoriful 0 M. Chapman c Tanzim b Rishad 19 J. Neesham c Afif b Mustafizur 48 M. Santner c Soumya b Shoriful 23 A. Milne not out 16 T. Southee c Afif b Mustafizur 8 I. Sodhi c Liton b Tanzim 2 B. Sears not out 1 EXTRAS (LB-1, W-1) 2 TOTAL (for nine wickets, 20 overs) 134 FALL OF WICKETS: 1-1 (Seifert), 2-1 (Allen), 3-1 (Phillips), 4-20 (Mitchell), 5-50 (Chapman), 6-91 (Santner), 7-110 (Neesham), 8-124 (Southee), 9-127 (Sodhi) BOWLING: Mahedi 4-0-14-2, Shoriful 4-0-26-3, Tanzim 4-0-45-1 (1w), Mustafizur 4-0-15-2, Rishad 3-0-24-1, Afif 1-0-9-0 BANGLADESH: Liton Das not out 42 Rony Talukdar c Southee b Milne 10 Najmul Hossain c Santner b Neesham 19 Soumya Sarkar b Sears 22 Towhid Hridoy c Southee b Santner 19 Afif Hossain c Neesham b Southee 1 Mahedi Hasan not out 19 EXTRAS (LB-3, W-2) 5 TOTAL (for five wickets, 18.4 overs) 137 DID NOT BAT: Rishad Hossain, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Shoriful Islam, Mustafizur Rahman FALL OF WICKETS: 1-13 (Rony), 2-38 (Najmul), 3-67 (Soumya), 4-96 (Towhid), 5-97 (Afif) BOWLING: Southee 4-0-16-1, Milne 3.4-0-39-1 (1w), Neesham 1-0-7-1, Sears 4-0-36-1, Sodhi 2-0-20- (1w), Santner 4-0-16-1 RESULT: Bangladesh won by five wickets.

Sada-E-Watan provides news and opinion articles as a service to our readers. These articles and news items come from sources outside of our organization. Where possible, the author and the source are documented within each article. Statements and opinions expressed in these articles are solely those of the author (reporter/newspaper) or authors (reporters/newspapers) and may or may not be shared by the staff and management of Sada-E-Watan. Sada-E-Watan was created to provide one convenient central location where a user can quickly scan headlines from many news sources. The headlines listed on Sada-E-Watan pages are links to stories on the sites where these stories are located. The goal of Sada-E-Watan is to help readers access stories on web sites that they would normally not have time to view on a regular basis and to add value to the news source sites by mentioning their name on top, so readers can view these sites..

The Sada-E-Watan takes no responsibility for any loss or damage suffered as a result of using the linked websites or as a result of using the information published on any of the pages of the linked websites.

Whilst every effort is made to ensure downloadable content is free from viruses, Sada-E-Watan cannot accept any liability for damages resulting from virus infection. You should take adequate steps to ensure your virus check regularly when using any device.

If you have any questions or comments about Sada-E-Watan, please contact us at: